My Common App. Personal Essay

I’m hoping that after reading this Essay, you’ll get to know me a little better. This Essay would definitely reveal something about me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some students have a background, identity, interest, or talent that is so meaningful they believe their application would be incomplete without it. If this sounds like you, then please share your story.

I was born in the capital of India, New Delhi and raised in a middle-class family. How does it feel like, if you’ve your children with you but you haven’t seen their face? Why I am asking this because my father is facing the same problem, as he is a blind man. I feel very bad while thinking that he won’t be able to see my face throughout his life.

There’s no one in my family who could guide me, neither my parents nor my siblings. Since my mother is illiterate and my father is a physically disabled man, I play a crucial role in their life. My father always supported me and provided more than everybody in our society and people could not tolerate our happiness.

On 18th August 2004 when I was in the first standard, my father’s business partners, who were living in our house without paying any rent, kidnapped me and demanded 30 lakhs of Indian rupees because our house was worth 30 lakhs. (http://www.thehindu.com/2004/08/21/stories/2004082117660300.htm)

Now they have completed their sentenced period of 7 years in the prison. After this incident, I got to know about the selfish human nature such as how low they could go. At a very young age, I became more responsible towards my family.

Many people have cheated my father by taking unfair advantage of his condition. Just for him, I became mature beyond my age. He studied in a special school for blind people. He is a talented gentleman and knows everything from stitching to anything that a blind man can do. Since my childhood, I always helped him and his friends whenever they need any type of help from someone. This is where I developed the helping nature.

I have a fear of heights but I still want to do something big in my life. I was interested in science from my primary school because it was easy to understand and relate things to and I always got more marks in science than other subjects. I always wanted to know how things work, the reasons behind its working like for example how does this remote control car works is there any invisible connection in the air, I wondered all of this when I was younger and always broke things in order to understand and know something that I don’t know.

I had decided that in the senior classes I will choose science stream rather than commerce and humanities and made a structured path for my future by doing research on professions or career a science student could pursue and when I went to 7th grade, I decided I will pursue engineering as my under graduation course. I haven’t decided yet as for which engineering branch I would go for since I faced a dilemma between mechanical and computer science but it was decided that I will pursue engineering for sure.

My interest in science reached a different level when I won a gold medal in Science Olympiad in 8th grade. My close friends always wanted my help in deciding their career since they were confused and thought I could help them as I always said something they had heard for the first time in our discussions.

whatsapp-image-2017-02-21-at-3-50-51-am
My Father receiving an award in a seminar which was held in Rohtak,Haryana.
img_0664
One of the best pictures of mine. Clicked at Lal Tibba, Mussoorie.

My father always supported me in whatever I believed was good for me. He always motivated me. I am really interested in engineering and I want to pursue it because it’s my dream and I would really like to pursue it from your world-class university. Thank you!!


 

I’ve applied to a total of 11 universities for my under graduation for the fall term 2017 and all of them are situated in the United States, including MIT, Harvard University, Stanford University, CalTech, etcetera. Till now, I’ve received 2 admission decisions from theย University of Colorado Boulder and The University Of Tennessee, and I got selected in both of them with a major in Mechanical Engineering. I’m eagerly waiting for admission decisions of the Ivy’s. Hoping for the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you currently do not utilize the free social media services, I believe that you need to rethink your strategy. Connect with me on

Facebookย ย โ€ข ย Instagramย  โ€ข ย Google+

It would be a pleasure for me to connect with you.ย โ™ฅ

Thanks for reading & visiting.

30 thoughts on “My Common App. Personal Essay

  1. Hi Prateek;
    I am extremely glad to have come across the blog of a person like you who is so strong.What I like in your nature is that not even once did you fell weak or beg for sympathy,as I can see in the above post.It is generally human nature(including me) that when we mention about the sad part of our life,we end up bragging excessively.Prateek,never feel low about yourself or your circumstances for you see that even God wants something great out of as he saved you despite that kidnap.And yes,sometimes circumstances make us mature earlier fortunately and unfortunately.Fortunately,because we stand out different and wise among the crowd and unfortunately because we lose on some golden days of our life preferably meant for some other joys.It is really good that you joined this blogging community for you will get here ample love and support.
    I congratulate you on your achievements in the field of science.Keep following your interests and chasing your passion,awards will come automatically..as they have been coming in your way till now.
    As you are a good human being,so you are already a successful person in my eyes however I have this strong intuition that one day you will be a star of India and soon we will have you on television…watching Prateek live with his success story..Mark my words Prateek,it will happen and that day you will remember me!:-)
    I wish you all the very best for your future endeavours! I will pray that you make it to your dream college.Keep us updated of your progress.
    Since you have no sibling,feel free dear to contact me on my mail id.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What should I say now, seriously I don’t have words to express what I am feeling right now. But one think I would definitely say is that this was the best comment or compliment that I have come across. โค Wow! ๐Ÿ˜Š This is the best moment for me since I started blogging and I really want to connect with people like you having such a beautiful soul. ๐Ÿ’– Saying Thanks would not be enough for your lovely words. Hugs ๐Ÿค— The best thing about blogging is that it connects us with people like you. And yes Sorry I don’t know how your comment went directly into my spam box I’m really sorry for that. You would be the second person in my mind if I come again for the fourth time on the television, after my parents since they are the biggest reason of and part of my success. ๐Ÿ™‚ At last, Thank you very much dear for everything โค Stay Connected.

      Like

  2. Prateek it is a pleasure meeting you. In looking at your site we believe it will be fun walking along side of you on this journey called life and seeing the world through your eyes and words. As for your Dad not being able to see is sad but I am sure he has overcome it with so many greater insights. Every challenge you are facing is preparing you for greater things so keep looking up and taking steps forward and all will turn out well.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes absolutely, Everything happens for a greater good. โค This world has taught me so many things at a very small age, and the lessons I learnt from them would definitely somewhere help me in my future. Thank you very much for the lovely words you shared. Glad to connect as well. ๐Ÿ˜Š May the words never fall short for you! Thank you once again. Stay connected. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I appreciate your story. You have seen first hand by personal experience that some people are willing to profit from your misfortune. It is good that you are aware and not naive. You have developed a maturity beyond many of your peers I suspect. I wish you success and I suspect that you will find it because you are willing to work on achieving success. You are a man and person a father is proud of and I am certain that your father sees that, and I wish him a long life to share with you.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You have a very inspirational story and your life is just beginning! The very best to you and your family. I know they must be seriously proud of you. Hope you’ll get positive news from several of the Ivy League schools you’ve applied to as well. Keep us all informed of your continued progress!
    K’lee

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope one of those Ivy League schools will snap you up!

    I was so sorry to read about your father’s blindness, and that you were kidnapped when you were a child. But it looks like you are determined to make the best life possible for yourself and for others. It also appears you have much love for your father. He sounds like a remarkable man.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is a pleasure to meet you, Prateek. Even though your father cannot see your face, he can feel your love, and I believe he is very proud of you. I wish you the best of luck and many wonderful blessings ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

